Remembering TVXQ!’s music as five

I wonder how many among the millions of K-pop fans today are actually aware of the kind of music TVXQ! had back when the group was still composed of its original members: Xiah Junsu, Micky Yoochun, Yeongwoong Jaejoong, Choikang Changmin, and U-know Yunho? And I wonder, how many of them would actually fall for TVXQ! had they been given the chance to hear what this group was capable of singing early on?

But as one of my favorite saying goes, “Better late than never,” so why not give TVXQ!’s 2004-2009 sound a go now? Allow me to help you with that.

To make the search easy for you (in case you really get interested to explore TVXQ!), here is a list of my top five favorite songs from the group’s first four albums: Tri-Angle, Rising Sun, “O”-Jung.Ban.Hap., and Mirotic:

(Feel free to listen to each and, please, don’t be surprised if you ever hear the group sounding so good when singing these songs live. Because we are, after all, talking about TVXQ! — the a cappella-expert Korean boy group where everyone can sing like a main vocal and each member looks like the visual). Yes, this is how a K-pop group sound when all its members are naturally talented and extremely good singers.

Anyway, my last reminder would be…..pay close attention to the vocals and again, feel free to be mesmerized. 🙂 Enjoy! 🙂

[1ST ALBUM: TRI-ANGLE, 2004]

1. Thanks To

If a rookie group sounds like this, how can you not fall in love with them?

2. 내 여자친구가 되어줄래? (Will You Be My Girlfriend?)

Can you say no?

3. 지금처럼 (Like Now)

4. 넌 언제나 (You Always)

Yep, Dong Bang. It’s You Always for Cassiopeia, even until now.

5. My Little Princess

[2ND ALBUM: RISING SUN, 2005]

1. Tonight

Otherwise known as the “Display of legit powerful vocals.

2. 바보 (Unforgettable)

Uggggghhhhh <33333

3. One

4. 작은 고백 (Love Is All I Need)

5. 약속했던 그때에 (Always There…)

TVXQ! music goodness… Ugh. They are still the best for me.

[3RD ALBUM: “O”-正.反.合. (“O”-JUNG.BAN.HAP.), 2006]

1. I’ll Be There

2. Remember

3. 이제 막 시작된 이야기 (The Story Has Just Begun)

Always the “good vibes” song. 🙂

4. On & On

5. You Only Love

Because each TVXQ! song can only make you fall in love and nothing else…

[4TH ALBUM: MIROTIC, 2008]
(I have the Version C, so I’m following the track list in that version of the album)

1. 사랑아 울지마 (Don’t Cry My Lover)

2. Hey! (Don’t Bring Me Down)

3. 넌 나의 노래 (You’re My Melody)

Always in a loop with this song…And I’m always in love with TVXQ! beacuse of this song. Legit good music.

4. 노을… 바라보다 (Picture of You)

5. Flower Lady

My sister and I always welcome our birthday by listening to this one. 🙂

[END]

And that ends the list of my top five favorite songs from TVXQ!’s first to fourth albums, but before I end this blog entry, allow me to also introduce you to TVXQ!’s music when they are in Japan.

Here are my top five favorite songs of Tohoshinki (that’s TVXQ!’s Japanese name), and by the way, hang on tight because it will be pure awesome from here on:

1. Proud

2. Darkness Eyes

3. Dōshite Kimi o Suki ni Natte Shimattandarō?” (どうして君を好きになってしまったんだろう? lit. Why Did I Have to End Up Falling Completely in Love with You?)

This very performance made my sister and I the Cassies that we are now…

4. Bolero

Allow this performance to show you why we, TVXQ! fans, always say that these boys are on a different level when it comes to live performances. Ugh, the goosebumps.

5. Stand By U

And lastly, please consider this a bonus:

This is TVXQ!’s version of an excellent live ballad performance on your favorite Sunday music show, SBS Inkigayo.

They were obviously in a different league back then. They were never your typical idol group. They breathe life into every song they perform and they perform each with so much technical perfection, emotion, and passion that all you are left to do while watching them sing is fall in love.

TVXQ! was undeniably the best group K-pop had, until that fateful morning in July of 2009 came, when it was made known to the public that three of the five members were filing a lawsuit against S.M. Entertainment, hence they will no longer be part of our beloved 東方神起. It still stings, to be very honest. But six years after, here we are now… Here I am, doing my little blogging thing to be of a little help in reminding everyone that there was once this group of five men who had nothing but genuinely good music and enchanting singing talents to offer.

Today, there may no longer be the TVXQ! with five members, but their music as five will always live because we Cassies will never stop appreciating it. In fact we will even do our best to share it with the rest of the world so more people can listen to it and appreciate it. 🙂

Yes, the group may have gone their separate ways, but that’s the good thing about music, it does not. TVXQ!’s music as five will always linger because it has once been there, thus, it can only be always there. 🙂

But if you will ask me what my all-time favorite TVXQ! song is… Here you go:

Hey, Kid. Always keep the faith. 😉

[DISCLAIMER: I do not own the featured image in this post. And please don’t forget to buy original copies of TVXQ!’s albums. They come with amazing perks!]

P.S. If this post ever gets to convince you to listen to TVXQ!’s songs, and then you really do, please let me know by dropping a message on the comment box below. I’d love to hear from you.

Fellow Cassies, please feel free to comment too. I want to hear from you all, and I want to know how you guys are doing. 🙂

Love and peace to you,

The Snowy Bunny

Leave a Reply

