IT’S ONE OK ROCK DUDE

So apparently I’ve been missing a big part of my “Japanese-music-fan” life as I have only discovered this Japanese rock band whose rock music does not sound so Japanese but still sounds so friggin’ good, I’m talking about ONE OK ROCK. You’ve heard of them? If you haven’t, well now you do. (Remember to spell it always in ALL CAPS)!

My sister was swimming through Tumblr themes, then we accidentally came across this account which has this song Re:make as its background music.

I was totally clueless that the band playing was Japanese. When the lead vocalist suddenly started singing the Japanese lyrics, my sister and I went asdfghjklasdfghjklasdfghjklasdfghjklasdfghjkl… it was endless spazz until I said step aside and let me blog. I mentioned in a previous entry (about Japanese music as well) that I can deffo go crazy over a voice. Well, here it goes again. But this time it’s a whole package, it’s not just the voice that’s making me tingle in whatever sensation I don’t know, but the whole band. The heavy music is so to my liking.

And so, what comes after the first encounter? GOOGLE. And YouTube. It’s quite surprising to learn that this voice which my sister described as born-to-sing-rock-songs (harunosekai, 2012) actually belongs to a certain Takahiro Morita, who before joining ONE OK ROCK band, was a JE (Johnny’s Entertainment) trainee and was supposed to debut with NEWS.

Anyway, the band’s name comes from One O’Clock, as in the time (1 o’clock). Because according to their page in Wikipedia, that is the time when they usually practice when they still haven’t debuted. If you’re a big fan of the Japanese nation, there’s no need to elaborate anymore as to how it turned into ONE OK ROCK, right? Read it again (;

As of now, we are yet to discover all their songs, they still have a few as they only debuted in 2007. But I am confident they have tons of good ones in store for their listeners. Here is another song driving my sister and I asdfghjklasdfghjklasdfghjklasdfghjkl…

The Beginning

This one has just been released last August 14, 2012 and it will be used as an official theme for the Rurouni Kenshin live action. I suggest you play it, and listen to the bridge part forever. lol We have only learned of this band, but damn, the way they do their music, their music videos, everything, I’m sure we’re bound to be stuck with them in a loop. As I have said before, lyrics isn’t our priority anymore when listening to Japanese music, simply because they have this magic in their melodies that makes you feel that you understand them even if you really don’t. ONE OK ROCK is bad ass in doing that. The emotions in their songs, overflowing, too much to handle. I don’t know if you will agree, but if you listen to them, you might get a gist of what I’m saying and why I’m saying all these.

Life is young, there’s another addition to our playlist. Can’t get any happier. The way how I feel about ONE OK ROCK’s music, I can’t put into words just yet. I’m still overwhelmed. I love everything, the voice, the English and Japanese diction, the strings, the heavy beat, the entire melody, the harmony, oh my gosh! The Japanese music which I love so much is being expressed in such a way that is so familiar, I feel so at home. They obviously are offering a new flavor (as a Japanese rock band), I love the spice! I’m in love. I’m really in love. It’s bringing in some unbelievable amount of romance in my life right now. I love it. I just love it!

Anyway, for something substantial, you can check out their official YouTube account ONEOKROCKchannel, they’re on Facebook too; ONE OK ROCK. If you’re an avid Japanese music fan like me and haven’t heard of this group yet, it’s about time you check them out too! They’re worth the try! Trust me (: It’s ONE OK ROCK DUDE!

[Disclaimer: I do not own the featured image used in this post.]

Love and peace to you,

The Snowy Bunny

One response to “IT’S ONE OK ROCK DUDE

  1. Well, you have felt what i feel now lately.
    They are so fuckin’ amazing band .
    All of things in the band is so wonderful
    i can’t stop listening their song .
    They have a good pronounciation in English . The first time, i listened their music, i thought they were western band.
    But taraaaa they are japanesse and they are the best 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

